Yellowhead County was formed in the 1990’s and was formerly the Improvement District of Yellowhead No. 14. When ID No. 14 became incorporated as a municipal corporation on January 1, 1994, the new municipal corporation was called “Municipal District of Yellowhead No. 94”. 

The Municipal District of Yellowhead No. 94 existed for 4 years. A trend was starting in the Province of Alberta where “Municipal Districts” were changing their names to “County’s”.  Many Municipal Districts in the Province found that outside of the municipal sector, most people did not know what a Municipal District was and found themselves explaining that it was the same as a County. The provincial legislation has also changed and allowed Municipalities to name themselves.  In July of 1998, the Municipal District of Yellowhead No. 94 became Yellowhead County.

For more tourist information please visit the following sites:

Edson Chamber of Commence

Town of Hinton

Partners on the Pembina (Evansburg & Entwistle Chamber of Commerce)

County Offices


2716 - 1 Avenue,Edson,AB. T7E 1N9
Phone: 780-723-4800
Toll Free: 1-800-665-6030
Fax: 780-723-5066


53404 Rge Rd 92A,Wildwood,AB.
Phone: 780-325-3782
Toll Free 1-800-814-3935
Fax: 780-325-3783

Latest News

County Maps